FrancisChoiniere-TamPhotography-5.jpg

Francis Choinière

Chef d'orchestre, Co-fondateur, et Directeur artistique

Rencontrez l'équipe

Nommé « un jeune chef d'orchestre prometteur », Christophe Huss, et l'un des « 30 musiciens classiques canadiens à surveiller de moins de 30 ans », Radio Canada, Francis Choinière est un musicien polyvalent, actif en tant que chef d'orchestre, producteur de concerts, pianiste et compositeur. Lauréat de la prestigieuse bourse de direction d'orchestre Christa et Franz-Paul Decker de la Fondation Hnatyshyn, M. Choinière a complété sa maîtrise en direction d'orchestre à l'Université McGill, sous le maestro Alexis Hauser.

En tant que cofondateur de l'OPCM, l'ensemble unit pour M. Choinière ses deux grandes passions, la musique chorale et la musique symphonique dans le but d’élever l'expérience de ces genres et ainsi d'inspirer une nouvelle génération de mélomanes.

M. Choinière est aussi le chef principal et codirecteur artistique de l'Orchestre FILMharmonique et dirigera l'orchestre à travers des chefs-d'œuvre symphoniques, dont Les Planètes de Holst et la Symphonie Fantastique de Berlioz, jumelés à des classiques du cinéma du 21e siècle. En tant que cofondateur et président de GFN Productions, M. Choinière est passionné par l'expansion et le développement des publics de musique classique par la présentation de projections de cinéma avec de la musique en présentielle, notamment Fantasia, Star Wars, Titanic et Lord of the Rings.

                                                                                                                                                  

Au cours de la saison 2020-2021, M. Choinière a été assistant et chef de reprise de l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts sous la direction d'Alexander Shelley. Entre 2018 et 2020, il a travaillé avec le Chœur Fernand Lindsay pour le Festival de Lanaudière en tant que chef de chœur collaborant avec des chefs tels que Stephen Layton (Trinity College) et Corrado Rovaris (Philadelphia Opera). M. Choinière a affiné sa direction d'orchestre dans des classes de maître avec des chefs renommés dont François Xavier Roth, Yoav Talmi et Colin Metters.

Directeur exécutif

CB701B35-4013-4003-A452-0E3EE93E71D6 (1).jpg

Sam Champagne est un ténor canadien et administrateur artistique avec une voix décrite comme ayant « ... une justesse impeccable, une diction correcte, expression et musicalité », Ludwig Van Montreal. M. Champagne se produit actuellement comme l'un des trois membres du groupe de crossover classique LYRICO et occupe le poste de directeur exécutif de l'Orchestre philharmonique et chœur des mélomanes (OPCM) depuis 2019.

 

Formé en 2020, LYRICO est un trio qui apporte des voix de formation classique à de belles mélodies de l'opéra à la pop. Leur premier concert intitulé « Noël à l’opéra », s'est tenu devant une salle comble au Théâtre Maisonneuve de la Place des arts, et a été décrit comme « ...un très agréable moment et qui – si je me fie aux applaudissements qui ont retenti, et aux ovations finales debout – a été un retentissant coup d’envoi… », Atuvu.ca. Suite à leur première performance réussie, l'ensemble a fait une tournée au Québec avec son nouveau spectacle intitulé « Les incontournables de Broadway » avec des arrêts à Québec, Gatineau, Sorel-Tracy et Montréal, qui a culminé avec un début à la Maison symphonique avec une performance intitulée « Une soirée de rêve ».

 

Originaire d'Ottawa, M. Champagne a commencé à apprendre le piano à l'âge de sept ans et a commencé à chanter à l'âge de 12 ans. Il a étudié le chant à l'école de musique Allegro avec Dr Janet Hamilton et a fréquenté l'école secondaire Canterbury en tant que membre du programme d'arts vocaux. Il a reçu un B.Mus. en performance vocale, étudiant avec le ténor international John Mac Master, et une mineure en entrepreneuriat musical de l'Université McGill entre 2017-2021.

Floydd Ricketts

chef de choeur associé

Floydd-Ricketts-565x425.jpg

Originaire de London (Ontario), Floydd Ricketts travaille régulièrement comme directeur musical au théâtre et en concert, ayant dirigé des spectacles dans tout le Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe. Il est le directeur artistique et le chef d'orchestre de l'Ensemble Noir, un chœur de chambre de Montréal qui se spécialise dans la musique des communautés sous-représentées, en particulier celles de la diaspora africaine. Floydd est le co-fondateur du Greater Toronto Philharmonic Orchestra et l'ancien chef du King Edward Choir, le chœur de l'Université McGill.

Il a été décrit par ses pairs comme un chef d'orchestre et un orchestrateur très compétent, et a écrit un certain nombre d'œuvres de chambre pour chœur et orchestre. Il dirige régulièrement des ateliers sur la pratique de l'interprétation spirituelle afro-américaine, et a récemment eu le privilège de travailler en concert avec la soprano Kathleen Battle en tant que chef de répétition lors de sa tournée Underground Railroad. L'année dernière, il a reçu le prix de la contribution exceptionnelle au théâtre du Montreal English Theatre Awards pour son travail en tant que directeur général/arrangeur pour la production de Choir Boy du Centaur Theatre, et il est actuellement finaliste pour un Sterling Award pour Outstanding Musical Direction pour son travail sur The Color Purple (coproduction Citadel/RMTC). Floydd est absolument ravi de rejoindre la faculté de l'École nationale de théâtre du Canada, aux côtés de certains des professionnels du théâtre les plus talentueux et de futures étoiles.

1-81+copy.jpg

Mary-Elizabeth Brown

Violon solo

La violoniste canadienne Mary-Elizabeth Brown mène des carrières parallèles en tant qu'interprète et pédagogue. En concert, elle a ravi le public du monde entier et a été saluée pour sa « capacité à déployer une magie douce-amère » (Rhein Main Presse) et sa « parfaite maîtrise de son instrument » (Florsheim Zeitung). Au cours des dernières saisons, elle s'est produite comme soliste invitée avec orchestre plus de quarante fois en Europe, en Asie, en Amérique du Nord et du Sud, ainsi que dans de nombreux festivals de musique de chambre dont Festival Campos do Jordao (Brésil), Mozarteum Uruguay, The White House ( États-Unis), le Festival d'Aldeburgh (Royaume-Uni), le Festival Indian River, le Festival Elora et le Festival d'été des arts de Banff (Canada). Son enregistrement des 3 derniers Concerti pour violon de Mozart pour Mozart Effects sortis dans le monde entier en 2017.

 

Aussi à l'aise qu'au premier fauteuil, les critiques ont salué Mary-Elizabeth comme "superbement confiante dans son rôle de leader" (Norfolk Times) et "... un violon solo exceptionnel" (El Adelantado, Espagne). Plus de 15 ans en tant que violon solo, elle a dirigé près de 1000 concerts sur 4 continents sous la direction de certains des chefs d'orchestre les plus réputés de notre époque, dont Lorin Maazel, Placido Domingo, Carlos Miguel Prieto et Vasily Petrenko. Elle a été violoniste solo pour l'enregistrement de Flanders Fields Reflections de John Burge qui a remporté le prix Juno 2009 de la meilleure composition. Les postes de direction incluent Orchestra of the Americas (2006-2008), le Britten-Pears Orchestra (2007-2009), Orchestra London Canada (Assoc. CM, 2006-2015), l'orchestre de chambre primé Sinfonia Toronto (2007-2016) , l'Orchestre de chambre McGill de Montréal (2016-2019) et l'Orchestre symphonique d'Ottawa (2017-2020).

En plus d'une riche carrière de soliste et de violon solo, elle est une enseignante, clinicienne, juge et conférencière recherchée au Canada et à l'étranger. Depuis la création du programme AVIVA Virtual Young Artist Program (le premier programme de musique pré-universitaire en ligne au monde) en 2012, elle a touché des vies dans le monde entier, enseignant des milliers de leçons à des étudiants sur les cinq continents via webcam, pilotant des projets visant à l'accessibilité et la formation de centaines d'enseignants et d'entrepreneurs créatifs. Elle a été l'une des plus jeunes de l'histoire à être nommée enseignante émérite par le Royal Conservatory (2020).

 

Mary-Elizabeth est largement reconnue comme une pionnière dans le monde de l'innovation en musique classique et en technologie. Elle a été la musicienne principale du premier projet canadien financé par le gouvernement fédéral explorant les instruments à cordes imprimés en 3D, et son travail de développement de méthodes efficaces pour l'enseignement de la musique à distance a été présenté dans de nombreuses émissions et publications, y compris "Q" de CBC, The Strad Magazine, le Canadian Suzuki Journal , et le professeur de cordes américain.

Mary-Elizabeth joue sur un violon Giuseppe Gagliano, vers 1766 (Naples)

ADMINISTRATION

Conseil d'administration

Madeleine Bilhete
Martin Choiniere

Michelle O'Connor
Bryn Orth-Lashley

Alexia Martins
Lucie Ménard
Sandrine Murengerentwali

Equipe administrative

Directeur artistique

François Choinière

 

 

Directeur exécutif

Sam Champagne

FrancisChoiniere-TamPhotography-5.jpg

Conductor, Co-Founder, and Artistic Director

    Meet the team

Named "a promising young conductor," Christophe Huss (Le Devoir), and one of CBC’s “30 Hot Canadian Classical Musicians Under 30,” Francis Choinière is a versatile musician, active as a conductor, concert producer, pianist, and composer. Winner of the Hnatyshyn Foundation’s prestigious Christa and Franz-Paul Decker Conducting Fellowship, Choinière completed his Master’s Degree in Conducting at McGill University, studying with Alexis Hauser.

As co-founder of the OPCM, the ensemble unites for Mr. Choinière his two great passions, choral music and symphonic music, with the aim of elevating the experience of these genres and thus inspiring a new generation of music lovers, or mélomanes.

Mr. Choinière is also the Principal Conductor and Co-Artistic Director of l'Orchestre FILMharmonique and leading the orchestra through symphonic masterworks, including Holst’s The Planets and Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique, paired with classics from 21st-Century cinema. In addition to his work as a conductor, Mr. Choinière is the co-founder and president of GFN Productions. This Quebec entertainment company is passionate about expanding and developing classical music audiences through the presentation of cinema screenings with live music including Fantasia, Star Wars, Titanic, and Lord of the Rings, and now represents a roster of artists in addition to offering marketing and production services to arts organisations in Montreal. 
 

In the 2020-2021 season, Mr. Choinière served as assistant and cover conductor of the National Arts Centre Orchestra under Alexander Shelley. Similarly, from 2018 to 2020, he worked with the Choeur Fernand Lindsay for the Festival de Lanaudière as chorus master and conductor, collaborating with conductors such as Stephen Layton (Trinity College) and Corrado Rovaris (Philadelphia Opera). Mr. Choinière has refined his conducting in masterclasses with renowned conductors including Francois Xavier Roth, Yoav Talmi, and Colin Metters.

Sam Champagne

Executive Director

CB701B35-4013-4003-A452-0E3EE93E71D6 (1).jpg

Sam Champagne is a Canadian tenor and arts administrator with a voice described as having “…impeccable intonation, accurate diction, expression and musicality,” Ludwig Van Montreal. Mr. Champagne is currently performing as one of three members in the classical crossover group LYRICO and has held the position of Executive Director of the Orchestre philharmonique et chœur des mélomanes (OPCM) since 2019.

 

Formed in 2021, LYRICO’s premiere concert entitled “A Very Operatic Christmas,” was held in front of a packed audience at the Maisonneuve Theatre of Place des arts, and was described as “...a very pleasant moment and which – judging by the applause that rang out, and the final standing ovations – was a resounding kick-off…,” Atuvu.ca. Following their successful premiere, the ensemble went on a tour of Quebec with a new show entitled “The Best of Broadway'' with stops in Quebec City, Gatineau, Sorel-Tracy, and Montreal. In March 2022, the group debuted at the Montreal Symphony House with a performance entitled “An Evening of Dreams.“

 

Originally from Ottawa, Mr. Champagne began learning piano when he was seven years old and started singing when he was 12. He studied voice at Allegro Music School with Dr. Janet Hamilton, and attended Canterbury High School as a member of the vocal arts program. He received a B.Mus. in voice performance, studying with international tenor John Mac Master, and a minor in music entrepreneurship from McGill University between 2017-2021.

Floydd Ricketts

Associate Chorusmaster

Floydd-Ricketts-565x425.jpg

A London, Ontario native, Floydd Ricketts regularly works as a musical director in theatre and in concert, having conducted performances throughout Canada, the US and Europe. He is the artistic director and conductor of Ensemble Noir, a chamber choir in Montreal that specializes in the music of underrepresented communities, especially those from the African diaspora. Floydd is the co-founder of the Greater Toronto Philharmonic Orchestra, and the former conductor of the King Edward Choir, the McGill University Chorus.

He has been described by his peers as a highly skilled conductor and orchestrator, and has written a number of chamber works for choir and orchestra. He regularly leads workshops on African-American Spiritual performance practice, and recently had the privilege of working with soprano Kathleen Battle in concert as rehearsal conductor on her Underground Railroad tour. Last year he was bestowed the Outstanding Contribution to Theatre Award from the Montreal English Theatre Awards for his work as MD/arranger for Centaur Theatre's production of Choir Boy, and is currently nominated for a Sterling Award for Outstanding Musical Direction for his work on The Color Purple (Citadel/RMTC co-production). Floydd is absolutely delighted to be joining the National Theatre School of Canada’s faculty, alongside some of the most talented theatre professionals, and future stars.

1-81+copy.jpg

Mary-Elizabeth Brown

Concertmaster

Canadian violinist Mary-Elizabeth Brown enjoys parallel careers as a performer and pedagogue. In concert, she has delighted audiences around the world and earned accolades for her “ability to unfold bittersweet magic” (Rhein Main Presse) and “perfect command of her instrument” (Florsheim Zeitung). In recent seasons, she has appeared as an invited soloist with orchestra more than forty times in Europe, Asia, North and South America, as well as numerous chamber music festivals including Festival Campos do Jordao (Brazil), Mozarteum Uruguay, The White House (USA), the Aldeburgh Festival (UK), Indian River Festival, Elora Festival and Banff Summer Arts Festival (Canada). Her recording of the last 3 Mozart Violin Concerti for Mozart Effect recordings released worldwide in 2017.

 

Equally at home as in the first chair, critics have praised Mary-Elizabeth as “superbly confident in her role as leader” (Norfolk Times) and “…an outstanding concertmaster” (El Adelantado, Spain). Over 15 years as a concertmaster, she led nearly 1000 concerts on 4 continents under the direction of some of the most noted conductors of our time including Lorin Maazel, Placido Domingo, Carlos Miguel Prieto, and Vasily Petrenko. She was the solo violinist for the recording of John Burge’s Flanders Fields Reflections that won the 2009 Juno for best composition. Leader posts include Orchestra of the Americas (2006-2008), the Britten-Pears Orchestra (2007-2009), Orchestra London Canada (Assoc. CM, 2006-2015), the award-winning chamber orchestra Sinfonia Toronto (2007-2016), Montreal’s longstanding McGill Chamber Orchestra (2016-2019) and the Ottawa Symphony Orchestra (2017-2020).

In addition to a rich career as a soloist and concertmaster, she is a sought-after teacher, clinician, adjudicator and speaker in Canada and abroad. Since founding the AVIVA Virtual Young Artist Program (the first web-based pre-college music program in the world) in 2012, she has touched lives around the world, teaching thousands of lessons to students on five continents via webcam, piloting projects aimed at accessibility, and training hundreds of teachers and creative entrepreneurs. She was one of the youngest in history to be named a Teacher of Distinction by the Royal Conservatory (2020).

 

Mary-Elizabeth is widely recognized as a pioneer in the world of innovation in classical music and technology. She was the lead musician on Canada’s first federally funded project exploring 3D printed string instruments, and her work in developing effective methods for distance music education has been featured in numerous broadcasts and publications including CBC’s “Q,” The Strad Magazine, the Canadian Suzuki Journal, and the American String Teacher.

Mary-Elizabeth plays on a Giuseppe Gagliano violin, c.1766 (Naples)

ADMINISTRATION

Board of Directors

Magdalene Bilhete
Martin Choinière

Michelle O'Connor
Bryn Orth-Lashley

Alexia Martins
Lucie Ménard
Sandrine Murengerentwali

Administrative Team

Artistic Director

Francis Choinière

 

 

Executive Director

Sam Champagne